Looking Back at My Predictions on BabyBirdland

BabyBirdland

Hello, Orioles fans and fans of the Minor Leagues.  As you may or may not be aware I am a contributing writer to BabyBirdland where you can get all the news and notes you need on the Baltimore Orioles Minor League system.  If you are on Twitter you can follow @BabyBirdland and if you do Facebook you can Like its page.

I joined BabyBirdland in late August of last year and spent the off-season writing about prospects and reviewing the 2016 season for many in the Orioles system.  In those pieces, I tried to look ahead to this season and where I thought the players would continue their development; my predictions if you will.

Let me set the record straight.  I am in no way an expert on the minor leagues (I still have a lot to learn) and I have no problem poking fun at myself.  Since I dislike writers/bloggers who make predictions and do not revisit their prognostications or even pen opinions later that contradict their predictions I am going to take a look at how I did in regards to what I predicted.

A flip of the coin would have done better!

In total, I wrote about 33 players in the off-season and opined where I thought they would land.  Of those 33 I got 15 (45.5%) right; 5 are undecided due to the Aberdeen Ironbirds (Class-A Short) roster not being finalized.  I will say that 7 of my “misses” went to a level higher than I thought.  I am proud and happy to say that one of those misses was Cedric Mullins who skipped a level and went to the Bowie Baysox (Class-AA).  He is on the fast track and is a favorite of many of us at BabyBirdland.  Three of my “misses” went to a lower level and one is awaiting assignment as he is on the DL and in extended spring training.  I also never anticipated one player becoming a player/coach (Cam Kneeland at Frederick).

There you have it: my report card on myself.  Expect an update once the Ironbirds roster is set later this season.

**UPDATE: 6/19/2017**:  The Aberdeen Ironbirds roster has been set and I got 5 more predictions correct as well as my extended Spring Training player was sent to the team I predicted.  That makes 21 of 33 correct (63.6%).

 

Leave a Reply

