Reflections 2016: My Time with @BabyBirdland

babybirdland

As the calendar flips to 2017 I thought it a good time to look back and reflect on my time writing for @BabyBirdland. I am fast approaching 4 months as a contributor to the site and I have learned so much about both myself as a writer and the Baltimore Orioles minor league system.

I still don’t know what Josh my editor saw in me to ask if I’d be interested in writing but I am grateful he did. I took a leap and I think I am better for it; it is good for everyone to explore the possibilities of what they are capable of doing.

My first piece was published on September 8th and since that day I have written about players, a manager, ballparks and a pennant race; I have even interviewed the Orioles Director of Player Development Mr. Brian Graham. I have learned a lot about the players and the system and I hope that through my writing you the readers have as well.

I am not afraid to admit that some of the names I have written about were not well known to me prior to researching them. I have enjoyed the journey towards getting to know these players and I hope all of you have as well. Part of our mission here at @BabyBirdland is to give you a look into the entire Orioles system and I think we are opening fan’s eyes as to what is there. I will continue to enlighten all of you about our minor leaguers and I know my fellow writers here will as well. We’re passionate about what we do and I hope that passion is conveyed with each and every piece written.

Much has been said about the Orioles system and where it rates in relation to other systems. The number of “top” prospects we have or don’t have has been talked and written about ad nauseum. I would like to see Orioles fans and our readers keep in mind something that Brian Graham impressed upon me during our phone interview. It’s not the numbers attached to a prospect in someone’s list, it’s not where our players rank on some media outlet’s list but rather it’s the players ability to help the major league ball club. Please keep that in mind as you follow all our minor league teams in 2017. These players have both potential and ability. Learn about them and their stories and watch what they do on the diamond before passing judgment. This may be a corny analogy but after talking to Mr. Graham I liken them to lottery tickets, you buy them hoping to hit it big while knowing that you will win some and you will lose some. The goal is to win more that you lose.

I want to leave you with our gratitude for caring enough about the Orioles and their system to read what we have written. I hope you will continue to do so and give us your feedback on what we do; we do this for all of you.

I wish all of you a Healthy and Happy 2017!

 

Click HERE for an archive of my 2016 @BabyBirdland articles.

 

Leave a Reply

