2016 AL Wild Card Game Prediction

images

A year ago I began this blog as an endeavor to improve my writing skills while sharing my opinions on sports in Baltimore with anyone interested in reading what I put down on paper.  My early entries were my predictions for the 2015 MLB Postseason.  Since opinions are like a$$holes (everyone has one) it’s time again for me to share my predictions for the 2016 Postseason.

Tonight the Baltimore Orioles are in Toronto to play the one game winner-take-all Wildcard game (although the two teams finished in a tie, Toronto hosts the game by winning the season series 10-9).  The winner of tonight’s game will face the Texas Rangers in the American League Division Series.

Tonight’s pitching match-up pits Marcus Stroman (9-10, 4.37 ERA) against Chris Tillman (16-6, 3.77 ERA).  Both teams feature high-powered offenses which means the balls could fly out of the Rogers Centre.

Stroman’s record against the Orioles in 2016 was 1-2 with a 7.04 ERA in 4 starts.  Conversely, Tillman was 1-0 with a 3.63 ERA in 4 starts.

Despite a 4-6 record in Toronto for the Orioles in 2016, my prediction is:

Orioles over the Blue Jays  ❌

I feel the Blue Jays are a team in turmoil as they were expected to win the AL East and did not; they did not achieve what they seem to feel they were entitled to.  The team shuffled their rotation twice as the season came to a conclusion to get better match-ups.  The Blue Jays also have a “Hit List” of media who are not to be spoken to.  This to me, seems to be a team in trouble and the Orioles are just the team to take advantage of that fact.  The Orioles bullpen sets up well tonight to bring a victory home to Baltimore and the bats certainly can mash with the best of them and will quiet the raucous Toronto crowd.  In my mind, all signs point to an Orioles victory tonight.

BLUE JAYS OVER ORIOLES 5-2 (11 innings)

Leave a Reply

